Review of This Is Falling by Ginger Scott (Falling Series, Book 1)

I have won this book and second part in one of Give-aways on Author’s FB page, but the review is purely honest. I was not asked for it.

So, like WOW! A huge WOW. I have finished reading it like maybe 10 minutes ago and I just decided that I have to do the review like NOW. (It’s part of my New Year’s resolution: read a book – do the review within 24 hours…). I liked Ginger’s website, but I haven’t really read any of her books and to be honest: I forgot that I took part in this giveaway, so imagine my shock yesterday when I got a notification that I have won it. Amazing way to finish the 2014! I haven’t started reading it straight away as I decided that I want to read it as my first 2015 book. And man, what a brilliant decision it was. The book is simply amazing. I love Nate and Rowe (I love him more though).

The book tells us a story from 2 POVs: Rowe’s and Nate’s. At the beginning we meet Rowe, when she is being dropped off by her parents at college. Miles and Miles away from home. But she doesn’t have the nervousness of teenager starting college. There is something more, much more. She is closed, shy and …. terrified. For a very long time we don’t know why. I seriously thought that it’s like a weird love triangle where her ex-boyfriend hooked up with her best friend. How wrong I was!

And then we meet Nate. A popular baseball catcher playing for the college team. And hoping to go professional. They meeting in the hall got me thinking: year normal jock. Fun, handsome, fit and most likely overly confident. I was sceptical. But I still kept reading. And then we have his POV and I started falling. Hard. I think I loved him before Rowe, so it makes him mine, right? But on a serious note, there is so much more to him. His relationship with his brother is just amazing. I adore those to and I am kind of jealous that me and my siblings are not even near it.

I love how Ginger build their love. From friendship to being together. I loved how Nate’s most important concern was to help Rowe. Of course, he wanted her to love him, but how he cared about her made my heart melt every single time. I cried at the end of the book, when Nate told her the truth. I was sobbing so hard, my husband thought there is seriously something wrong with me.

Beautiful book. And I am so glad it was my first read for the year. And now I am off to read second part.

Small blurb from the book:

First, I had to remember how to breathe. Then, I had to learn how to survive. Two years, three months and sixteen days had passed since I was the Rowe Stanton from before, since tragedy stole my youth and my heart went along with it.

When I left for college, I put a thousand miles between my future and my past. I’d made a choice—I was going to cross back to the other side, to live with the living. I just didn’t know how.

And then I met Nate Preeter.

An All-American baseball player, Nate wasn’t supposed to notice a ghost-of-a-girl like me. But he did. He shouldn’t want to know my name. But he did. And when he learned my secret and saw the scars it left behind, he was supposed to run. But he didn’t.

My heart was dead, and I was never supposed to belong to anyone. But Nate Preeter had me feeling, and he made me want to be his. He showed me everything I was missing.

And then he showed me how to fall.

*This is a standalone in a three-part series that will focus on different characters. Each book can be read on its own.

51sPeKi6TLL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU02_

Leave a Reply

