The Daring Assignment by Victoria Bright (The Curvy Assignments, book 1)

I have received an ARC copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Small Blurb:

25066960

I didn’t mean to hurt anyone, especially him…

I was living the dream. I had a great career as a romance author, a successful boyfriend, and am the daughter to a New York power couple. With my standing, my family groomed me to be perfect. Despite having it all, something was still missing.

In an attempt to break away from my privileged, suffocating life, I was in pursuit of finding my own path to happiness. After my literary agent gave me a risky writing assignment, I set out to write a best-seller that took me completely out of my comfort zone and into the arms of another man. He was only supposed to be a research toy, falling in love wasn’t a part of the plan.

As I become tangled into a huge web of lies, I quickly find out that I have a life changing decision to make. Do I choose to continue living a life of comfort, stability, and misery or do I take a chance on the unknown to preserve my happiness?

My thoughts:

This was my first book by Victoria and I had to admit that I enjoyed the book. It was something different and refreshing, I can say.

Arianna Donatelli, daughter of wealthy and pompous Donatelli Family, is an inspiring author of romances, that tries to hit best-selling list with her novels and also please her parents. And she is doing it by being with a man that neglects and ignores her. They have a simple partnership: they are together, so they can receive their inheritance. Both have parents that are not entirely happy with their children, but Arianna has it worse. Her parents gave her ultimatum: either drop being an author and start working or marry rich. She chose the latter, but after 4 years of her fake relationship, she realises that she is missing something. Something really important: Happiness. She is not happy and most of the time she is doubting herself as a person and as a woman.

One day her publisher gives her a task: to start writing erotica. She gave her a diary and told her to do a research on the subject. And that’s how she meets Zane. Man of her fantasies and man who can make all her sexual fantasies come true. But she never expected to find happiness, kindness and love with him. Trying to keep it simply to a research only she lies to him, but after all her lies a re revealed, the betrayal he feels damages their relationships. Even though she is heartbroken, she finally finds her voice and break the ties her parents have on her. She is free. But the cost has been enormous.

I liked the story, but sometimes Arianna was getting on my nerves. She was way to shy and undecided what she wants, and that’s why I give only 4 stars for this book. But either way it’s a really good story.

I loved the last chapter with POV of Zane! I would love more of them!

Leave a Reply

