The Hazard of Sleeping with a Friend by Alyssa Rose Ivy (Hazards, #5)

I have received an ARC copy of this book from the Author in exchange for an honest review. The thoughts are 100% mine and I wan not compensated in any way.

So before moving to my thoughts, I have to wipe the tears, blow my nose again. Ok, I’m ready…damn the tears are starting again.

Small Blurb:

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000026_00023]

Warning: Sleeping with a friend might change your life forever.

Sleeping with Kyle was never in the plans. Pretending to be his girlfriend was one thing, but letting our relationship become anything but platonic was another. The problem with mixing friendship with sex is that inevitably feelings get involved, and when that happens there’s no turning back.

When Kyle’s life fell apart around him, I needed to help, but doing that meant opening myself up to the most terrifying thing in the world—falling in love.

My thoughts:

This book is the most awaited book in the Hazards Series…at least by me. I always wanted to know Jade’s story. She was amazing friend in most of the previous parts, but she was always the one that was really closed. No one knew about her previous life. Life before coming to college. And I thought that maybe she had a bad break up, her parents are not the best ones. But her story…her story made me cry. I was sobbing. I never expected that she went through something like that.

In here we have Jade and Kyle. Friends, since they started working together at the music station and also after drama with Juliet and Kyle’s brother, Dylan. Or Cara’s story. They were amazing friends. Jade felt like she can tell Kyle everything, but she was also falling for him. She had a crush, but she didn’t want a relationship, as she knew it never works out and it ends ugly. She wanted to spare herself heartbreak and hurt, humiliation after a break up.

Their conversation just as the book begins made me laugh so hard my tummy hurt. Their teasing is amazing and so funny!

The story is told from 2 POVs: Jade’s and Kyle’s. Both of them have their secrets, that no one knows about. Both had drama in the past. Even though it’s Jade that is supposed to call Kyle if she gets an URGE, but it’s him calling her first, but it’s not because of that. He needs her help in convincing his family, that he has a girlfriend. For couple of months now. At the beginning she is not sure what to do. She knows it’s a bad idea, especially, when she is crushing on him so much. But even though, she agrees and after a week together, everything changes. Their are not able to go back to being just friends. They agree to let things happen naturally. Jade, being herself, is clearly stating it’s only sex, but Kyle is fighting to make sure it will change and they will have a full relationship. One night, where she admits that it’s something more and finally she is ready to call it a relationship, she tells him everything. Her bad break up and what happened to damage her. In here I was crying really hard. I DID NOT EXPECT THAT! At the same time a tragedy happens and this time it’s not Jade that is pushing Kyle away, it’s him pushing her away. He is depressed and blames himself. He shuts everyone out. He knows that he is hurting Jade, but he is convinced he doesn’t deserve anything. And slowly darkness pulls him deeper and deeper. But Jade fights and one evening, she follows him to one place he finds happiness, and as only one person she is telling him That it’s not his fault. Never was. He was not the selfish one.

Everything ends with usual happy ending, but this story broke me. In my personally view, this part was the most beautiful one.

Well done, Alyssa. Amazing, beautiful 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

