*** Perception: A New Adult Anthology by Nealy Gihan, Scott C. Davis, Linda Davis, Mary Laufer and Heather Hildenbrand – PLUS My Ending to one of them! ***

I have received an ARC copy of this anthology in exchange for an honest review.

Blurb:

Blurb:

Perception Cover

The world will never look the same…

There comes a defining moment in every young person’s life that irrevocably shifts their point of view. For a new teacher who still compares herself to her students, it’s a missing girl and a false accusation that could cost her more than her career. For a young man who settles into a rut that not even his broken marriage can pull him out of, it’s a drifter’s gun to his head. For an idealistic college student, it’s her parents’ divorce pulling back the curtain on who they really are, shattering everything she thought she knew about love. And for a recovering addict who’s not ready to change, it might just be an unhappy ending to her illicit affair.

In Perception, discover five captivating stories that explore what it means to be a new adult.

Buy links:

Goodreads link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22930219-perception?ac=1

Amazon US link: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MWQ15D6

Amazon UK link: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00MWQ15D6?*Version*=1&*entries*=0

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/perception-nealy-gihan/1120262838

Smashwords link: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/466159

iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/perception-new-adult-anthology/id913089321?mt=11

My thoughts:
My Boyfriend is a Senator by Linda Davis (4 stars)

It was an interesting story. It’s told from the POV of the main character, Taylor. A young woman, whose boyfriend is a Senator. An older guy, who is making her believe that he is separated. I was sad for her, when she is all the time telling herself that her “Boyfriend is a senator”. But most of the time I was annoyed with her. I wanted to shake her and tell her: WAKE UP! But I think the idea would make a really good novel.

Missing by Mary Laufer (5 stars)

This story would be amazing as a whole book! It kept me on edge all the time. I wanted to know what happened! Mary perfectly created all characters. Theresa is this annoying, beautiful but brilliant student. At the beginning I hated her (yeah, the teacher in me was really annoyed), but after I read her first entry in the diary I was heartbroken and I literally cried. Mystery, murder and suspense was that what I love! Amazing and I want to know what happened after!!

The Outlaw by Scott C. Davis (3.5 stars)

I didn’t know how to feel about this story. Even though it did have the potential, I was a bit disappointed with the main character. I could understand that he was devastated after what happened to him, but I wanted more explanation. A tantrum to be throw by him. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not a bad story, but could be so much better!

Drive by Nealy Gihan (3 stars)

Hm. The story started off with good idea, but quickly I lost the feeling. I finished it, but I had a meh feeling about it. Could have been much much better.

The Talisman by Heather Hildenbrand (4.5 stars)

I love Heather and I love her books! All of them are amazing, and this one, as a book, would be amazing! The idea is great and grabbed my attention straight away. I love paranormal! And I liked that I was not sure from the beginning what is happening. Amazing, but this ending was a bit rushed for me (I know it is a short story!). I hope Heather will turn it into a full book!

The anthology as a whole for me deserves amazing 4 stars!

shift your perception button

My alternative ending:

The Talisman by Heather Hildenbrand

Avery looked at Loch, daring to smile a little. He smiled back and taking her small hand in his, together they followed the angel. As Avery passed the door of the Real, she felt the Talisman to fell from her neck. She screamed quietly and tug Loch’s hand. He turned away and asked:

-What’s the matter?

-The Talisman. – she said pointed to the necklace now lying in the grass, – It just slipped from my neck. – she explained and wanted to turn around to pick it up, but the angel words stopped her:

-Leave it, Avery. It will find the next person, that fate needs testing or if they need help.

-But what if the wrong person finds it? – she argued.

-It never happened, and even if, then we will step in. – he explained calmly.

Avery nodded her head and wanted to turn around, but then she seen a face that she thought she will never see again. With the emergency department, there she was, Jenna, a girl, a rookie, who she met few months ago in one of the orphanages she was placed. She looked intensely at the girl and suddenly she knew what to do. She looked in the eyes of the girl, even though Jenna couldn’t see her, and planted a thought in her head. “Pick up the necklace, no one will miss it. It’s yours now. keep it safe”. Seeing that Jenna did what she told her, she turned around and followed her new destiny.

Jenna, picked up the necklace, thinking that nobody will miss it, she pocketed it and turned to look for injured. But she couldn’t find anything. Looking around, suddenly she saw red eyes between the trees. Her heart sped up and she started to sweat. She saw them once. Since seeing them few months ago, in the orphanage, she had nightmares about a war between humans, monsters and angels. She always blamed it on her imagination, but now seeing them she wasn’t so sure. She swallowed hard and without looking back she started to walk fast towards all the cars, and in her mind all she heard was: “RUN! Keep it safe!”.

Leave a Reply

