Interview With Shelley HoltReady.Set.Connect 10 Easy Ways to Create Joy in Your Life Today

Q. What inspired you to write your first book?  
 

I always felt in my spirit, since college, that I would write a book. When I tried to come up with what it would be, I failed. Out of the blue, at the age of 45, I was led to type the words out and tell my story to help lead others to fulfilling and joyful lives.  

 

Q. Who would you most like to have a cup of coffee with? (Dead or alive)

​Explain…  

 

I would like to have a cup of coffee with my grandmother. Her name was Dot, but I called her “Nan” and she died when I was about 12. I never got to know her deeply and I would love that opportunity. I know she didn’t try to learn to drive until she was in her 50’s… and she never did get the hang of it. She preferred others to take her.  

 

Q. What is your biggest pet peeve?  

 

I like the bed to be made when I crawl into it at night, so I expect the last person out in the am to make it J

 

Q. Tell us something quirky about you.  

 

I have a super sniffer nose! I am a total smell person. It can sometimes be a curse!  

 

Q. Favorite comfort food?  

French Fries.

 

Q. Five books that inspire you.  

 

Funny enough, I’m not a book reader! I find my attention span won’t allow it. So I stick with magazine articles and online stories. That is why you will find my book written in a concise and “to the point” way…to keep readers engaged and hooked to want to get through the short 80+ pages.

 

Q. Tell us the one most important thing about your novels. The one thing that makes them different from all other books out there.  

 

The content is raw, the truth, and meant to inspire people to realize they are in control of creating their own JOY… through all of the ups and downs life brings.  

 

 

Q. Are your books available on Amazon or other digital retailers as e-books?  

 

Yes, it is available on Amazon as an e-book.

 

Q. What is your marketing strategy for your books?  

 

We are diverse in our strategy. We are in some local bookstores and do social media to promote through it our business Best Life. The majority has been grass roots – sending to radio personalities that cover certain topics and local 211 organizations; we often give out books to people we meet in every day life who would seem to benefit from finding more JOY in their lives. The goal of the book is to find it’s way into the hands of those who need the message within it. I am confident it will find it’s way to that one person who will propel it to a Best Seller.  

 

Q. What are you working on now? What’s next?  

 

The next book is going to be Ready.Set.Connect BS Love – 5 Tricks to Have True Love (or something to that effect) – it will be the deeper story of the love my husband (Brandon) and I share (hence BS) and encourage people that they too can find and have their true love.  

 

Q. What is your advice to a new writer who is trying to get a publishing contract or thinking of self-publishing?

 

Research all of your options thoroughly and work with someone who can help publish and promote the book successfully.  

 

Please include all the following information:

 

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ready.set.connect2day

Twitter: n/a

LinkedIn: n/a

Personal Blog: n/a

Website: http://www.liveyourbest.today

 

Excerpts from the Book Ready.Set.Connect 10 Easy Ways to Create Joy in Your Life Today by Shelley Holt:

 

1. It took a long time to uncover the truths in my life. I want to save you this truth-seeking time, so you can have true and pure joy now. It is simple, free and it feels great. It is awesome. As I unveil my life, you might now relate to my upbringing, my friendships, my triumphs or my mishaps. In fact, you may not agree with some of my choices and decisions and that is ok. It will not matter how much alike or different my life experiences or choices are from yours.

 

2. I felt anger, but a good anger. I was going to advocate for my husband! I took the white board off the fridge and started writing, “Today, 8/8/14 I declare joy, happiness, peace, financial security and the everlasting love we deserve. Once again, God stepped in and brought me an angel.

3. I cannot predict what will get thrown your at you but I can assure you that all of us will walk through peaks and valleys throughout our lives. It is how you walk, how you think, and how you speak at each point that will determine how well, how quickly, how successfully you move forward.

Leave a Reply

